El Caldero de Sol

El Caldero de Sol

domingo, julio 10, 2016


From the earliest times the twelve days have been regarded as a time when supernatural events can easily happen, when the dead are close at hand and might often be seen. One reads of the Wild Hunt, or the Fairy Host riding across the lands of Britain and Germany in particular, led by characters such as King Arthur, Woden, and Arawn, the Celtic god of the Underworld. In Ireland these supernatural hunters are known as the Yule Host, and in common with all these bands they are believed to gather up wandering souls and carry them away to the Otherworld. The Twelve Days of Christmas stand outside of "ordinary time," and celebrations focus on the return of the sun and a continuation of the eternal cycle of life. The days from Christmas Eve on December 24th to Epiphany on the 6th of January (actually fourteen days as the first and last are not included in the twelve) really exist out of linear time. They are, in a sense, the fruit of the past year, one day for each month that has passed. Over the centuries the dates have changed - sometimes radically. For an explanation of those changes see this post: When do the 12 days of Christmas really begin? Here's a list of commonly accepted dates and traditions:
Day 0 - Dec 24 - Christmas Eve
Day 1 - Dec 25 - Christmas Day, Birthday of Jesus, Mithras, Attis, Aion, Horus, Dionysus, and The Unconquered Sun.
Day 2 - Dec 26 - St Stephen's Day, Boxing Day, Day of the Wren
Day 3 - Dec 27 - Mother Night, St John's Day
Day 4 - Dec 28 - Holy Innocent's Day, Childremass
Day 5 - Dec 29 - Feast of Fools
Day 6 - Dec 30 - Bringing in the Boar
Day 7 - Dec 31 - New Year's Eve, Hogmanay
Day 8 - Jan 1 - New Year's Day,
Day 9 - Jan 2 - The kalends of January
Day 10: - Jan 3 - Snow Day
Day 11 - Jan 4 - Evergreen Day
Day 12 - Jan 5 - Twelfth Night
Day 13 - Jan 6 - Epiphany,

No hay comentarios:

Publicar un comentario